Security Warehouse Support Forum

Help needed with system selection!

andyhart21

Hi, I am looking for some help and advice with selecting an alarm system for the house I am currently renovating. It is a four bedroom house with an external garage which I would also like protecting. I would prefer a wired system as from my experiences at work, I am not fully convinced of the reliability of wireless technology!  I am nearing the first-fix stage so now is the time to start planning the alarm system. I am an industrial electrician and plan to install it myself but I have no prior experience of alarm systems or installation. Here are my thoughts so far:

1.) A colleague recommended Bosch Blue Line BLD-P sensors, what do you guys think? Would one of these be suitable for an unheated garage?

2.) I like the look (from an aesthetic point of view) of the Texecom Premier flush mounted keypads, what alarm panels are these best suited for?

3.) I would prefer proximity tag arming/disarming of the system as I would like at least 6 people to have access to the property and trying to get them to remember a code would be virtually impossible ;D Which panel/keypad would be best suited to this? I would also like a second keypad by the back door, can you have two proximity keypads on the same system?

4.) Are door/window contacts really necessary if the room is covered with a PIR?

5.) As the property will be unoccupied for approximately the next six months, do you think some sort of internal alarm would be a good idea in case a burglar gets inside the property?

I would welcome any recommendations for all the other equipment I will need for the installation.

Thanks in advance, Andy :)

Andy ill try to answer your questions below

1, Its not normally a good idea to use a PIR in a garage due to the environment. Id advise a dualtec based detector.

2, Keypads are not interchangable normally. they will only work on the panel they are designed for. In this case the texecom premier